The European Development Fund (EDF) is the main instrument for Community assistance in the cooperation and development of the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) States and the overseas countries and territories (OCT).

The 1957 Treaty of Rome foresaw its creation for granting technical and financial aid, initially to the African countries that were colonies at the time, with which certain European States had historical ties.

The Fund is financed by the Member States of the European Union. It is subject to its own financial rules and is managed by a specific committee.

Support for the ACP States and OCTs continues to be financed through the EDF during the period 2014-2020.

Each EDF programme covers a period of about five years and the EDF cycles generally coincide with those of the partnership agreements/convention:

EDF Period Conventions / Partnership agreements Programmes financed under the specific European Development Funds (EDF) Amount € m
1st EDF 1959-1964
2nd EDF 1964-1970 Yaoundé I Convention
3rd EDF 1970-1975 Yaoundé II Convention
4th EDF 1975-1980 Lomé I Convention
5th EDF 1980-1985 Lomé II Convention
6th EDF 1985-1990 Lomé III Convention
7th EDF 1990-1995 Lomé IV Convention Regional Programme I 25
8th EDF 1995-2000 Lomé IV Convention and the revised Lomé IV Regional Programme II 30
9th EDF 2000-2007 Cotonou Agreement Transfer of Regional Programme II (28,7)
10th EDF 2008-2013 Revised Cotonou Agreement Governance Initiative 33,1
11th EDF 2014-2020 Revised Cotonou Agreement Pluriannual Indicative Programme 30